Cortlandt Manor, NY, October 24, 2008 -- As it embarks on its 10th anniversary season, Copland House today announced the recipients of its Aaron Copland Awards for 2008.  Nine composers, including Mark Kilstofte of Greenville, SC, were selected for these coveted all-expenses-paid residencies at Copland's restored, longtime home in New York's Lower Hudson Valley by a distinguished jury that included Daron Hagen, Tania León, and Zhou Long.  Kilstofte is the only composer to receive three Aaron Copland Awards, having been awarded one in 1998, Copland House's inaugural year, and again in 2003.

Peterborough, NH, July 17, 2008 -- The MacDowell Colony has selected Mark Kilstofte as the Gardner Read Fellow for 2007-08.  The Fellowship was established by Cynthia Read in honor of her father, composer and conductor Gardner Read.

Lille, France, December 18, 2006 -- The final round of Coups de Vents' International Composition Competition for Wind Ensemble was held December 16 at the Lille Opera.  The jury, composed of seven members: Claude Pichaureau (chair), Kanako Abe, Ida Gotkovsky, Ken Ito, Claude Kesmaecker, Richard Strange and Grigory Voronov awarded three prizes.  Second prize  -- Prix Henri Selmer Paris (5,000 Euros) -- was awarded to American composer Mark Kilstofte for his work "Ballistic Etude No. 3: Panic!"

Cambridge, MA, November 30, 2006 -- The Board of Directors of the Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University announced the recipients of its 2006 Fromm commissions.  Mark Kilstofte of Greenville, SC, was named one of ten composers awarded a $10,000 commission.  These commissions represent one of the principal ways that the Fromm Music Foundation seeks to strengthen composition and to bring contemporary concert music closer to the public.  Kilstofte will write a set of orchestral songs for soprano Tamara Matthews and Philadelphia's Orchestra 2001. 

Cortlandt Manor, NY, September 30, 2003 -- Copland House today announced the recipients of its 2003-04 Aaron Copland Awards.  Seven gifted composers, including Mark Kilstofte of Greenville, SC, were selected for its all-expenses-paid Copland Awards residencies at Aaron Copland's restored, long-time home just north of New York City by a jury that included Eve Beglarian, Joseph Schwantner, Morton Subotnick, and Richard Wilson.  Kilstofte is the first composer to be selected for a second Aaron Copland Award, having already received one in 1998, Copland House's inaugural year.

St. Paul, MN, May 31, 2002 -- The Dale Warland Singers announced Mark Kilstofte as the winner of the 2002 Choral Ventures program, formerly known as the New Choral Music Program.  Selected from 254 applicants in 41 states, Kilstofte was one of four finalists commissioned to write a 5-7 minute choral work for the 2002-2003 Choral Ventures Reading Session.  He will be awarded a $7,000 commission to write a 10-15 minute work to be premiered during the Dale Warland Singers 2003-2004 season.

New York, April 19, 2002 -- The American Academy in Rome announced the winners of the 106th annual Rome Prize Competition which provides fellowships ranging from six months to two years for American artists and scholars to live and work at the Academy's eighteen-building, eleven-acre site atop Rome's highest hill, the Janiculum.  Composer Mark Kilstofte has been awarded the Frederick A. Julliard/Walter Damrosch Rome Prize Fellowship in Musical Composition.

St. Paul, MN, January 3, 2002 -- The Dale Warland Singers announced the four finalists of its 2002 Choral Ventures program. The finalists, chosen from over 250 applicants from 43 states, include Mark Kilstofte of Greenville, SC.  Each will be awarded a $1,500 commission to write a work to be premiered at the Choral Ventures Reading Session, May 14, 2002 in St. Paul.  Following the reading session, one composer will be chosen to receive a $7,000 commission for a new work to be premiered on a Dale Warland Singers 2003-04 subscription concert.

New York, February 27, 2001 -- The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the recipients of this year's awards in music, selected by a committee of Academy members: Jack Beeson (chairman), Leslie Bassett, Andrew Imbrie, George Perle, and Ned Rorem.  The awards will be presented at the Academy's annual Ceremonial in May.  Mark Kilstofte is to receive a Goddard Lieberson Fellowship, endowed in 1978 by the CBS Foundation and awarded to "composers of exceptional gifts."

Cortlandt Manor, NY, November 4, 1998 -- The Copland Heritage Association today announced the first recipients of the Aaron Copland Awards, a residency program based in the newly-restored, longtime home of the celebrated American composer for whom they were named.  Seven composers were selected out of nearly 125 applicants, including Mark Kilstofte of Greenville, SC.  The Aaron Copland Award recipients were chosen by a distinguished panel of musicians consisting of George Crumb, Libby Larson, George Perle, Gunther Schuller, and Melinda Wagner.

New York, January 24, 1997 -- The winner of the seventeenth annual ASCAP Foundation Rudolf Nissim Award was announced today by ASCAP Chairman Marilyn Bergman.  Mark Kilstofte's winning entry, "Recurring Dreams," subtitled Variations for Orchestra, is approximately 14 minutes in duration.  The work was selected from among 225 entrants to receive the $5,000 award.

Kilstofte Home Page